RSS Feed

Sabrina Orah Mark on the prose poem – via Black Warrior Review

 

I wish some bully in a playground would ask me, “if you love the prose poem so much why don’t you marry it?”  And I would say, “but I have married the prose poem.”  I would say, “He is the most handsome man in the world.  And he is wise, and kind, and good, and he treats me like a queen.”  I would say, “If I could I would marry the prose poem every day for the rest of my life.”  And then my voice would get serious, and I would ask the bully if he knew up until about ten years ago it was illegal in this country for a white Jewish woman to marry a prose poem?  At this the bully would probably cry and try to run away, but I would catch him by the collar and tell him the prose poem and I now have a beautiful son.  I would show him photos of our beautiful son.  “He too,” I would say, “is a prose poem. He speaks to the shadows.”

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. you should marry this poem.
    Or you already have, and the last line is your bastard child that you left Sabrina to raise all on her own. Shame on you!
    😉

    Reply
  2. … and why not! 🙂

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

