RSS Feed

Victory

Posted on

 

I’ve been watching a lot of golf during the last year. I’m pretty sure that’s a sign of getting older. During this time, my favorite golfer has become Bubba Watson. Today, Bubba won golf’s most prestigious tournament, The Masters. I admire Bubba for a number of reasons. He’s a solid man who isn’t afraid to express his values and beliefs. I’m learning to be more open in regards to this. I’m working on not worrying so much about what others think. I also admire Bubba because he’s different. He isn’t the traditional, conservative, boring golfer. I try to write like that. I try to bring a freshness in my writing. And while I don’t swing a blinding pink club like Bubba, I try to swing that club in regards to my writing in the metaphorical sense. Here’s to you, Bubba Watson. Here’s to you. 

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. Good for him. And you.

    Reply
  2. Watson’s victory in the Masters yesterday was so much fun to watch! He seems so authentic. I love that he hasn’t taken lessons and that he has his own style!

    Reply
    • He has such a quirky game. And yes, he seems so genuine. A case of good things happening to good people.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

