RSS Feed

Doubleheader

 

I remember in high school when we played a doubleheader at El Rancho. What a name. Poor school. We ate lunch in between games. My teammates were jealous because my sack lunch was the best. I ate the biggest Oreo cookie ever that day. I ate a granola bar in between this post and the earlier post from today. Now I’m going to play basketball. I’d rather be playing in my baseball (not slow-pitch softball) game, but my team isn’t very good and we missed the playoffs. But this week was very good to me. I have a new flash in Dogzplot about circus people. I was also nominated for my second Pushcart. I tell my sports fan amigos that don’t follow writing, that my status in the world of poetry is that of a AA prospect. Maybe even AAA. Hopefully someday, the Bigs. In the world of poetry, I want to reach the status of starting second-baseman for the Dodgers. But I’d even love to be a reserve. I always thought I’d be a ballplayer, never a poet:

That makes me slightly sad.
Enrique Romo is not my dad.

About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

2 responses »

  1. hey this is nice to see a 1980 topps card beside your words.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

