RSS Feed

Completely in love with this woman’s words…

 

Before the BlazeVox fiasco, I asked Sabrina Orah Mark if she would consider writing a blurb for my book. She said yes. But I withdrew the book from Blaze, explained the situation to Sabrina, and asked for a raincheck. If all goes as planned, I hope to contact her very soon and ask if I can cash in.  She’s one of my absolute favorite poets in the history of all things poetic. I hope she says yes again. There’s not another poet alive I’d rather have a blurb from. Amazing…

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. randomly happened upon your blog (which i’ll get to in a minute… patience, danielsan) and i get to hear THIS!! … i had not heard her work before, and i am, likewise, completely smitten.
    and now for you… you with your haircut, riding the rails with dead banditos… your words are wonderful, and i feel a deep need to understand your obsession with cholas.
    it’s so nice when once in a while the tangled webs offer up something as shining (in the best, sepia-toned, dust-spattered sense) as this. can’t wait to dig through more of your work.
    -shawnacy

    Reply
    • Why thanks, Shawnacy. Is she not pretty crazy swell? Her book The Babies is a must read. And please do dig through. Most of the stuff on here I’m proud of. Most of. As for me and my Cholas… I don’t even think I know why I have such a strong connection to them. It’s kind of like the people on Animal Hoarders, I guess.

      Reply
  2. Only having a few minutes to spare this morning I have listened to Sabrina’s initial poem in this reading, which is the one about the stepmother. It held me, as the ideas and images circulated, it resonated because I have used a similar technique myself in some of my ‘lithopoemai’. But I appreciate that Sabrina’s poetry here is not the sum of the technique. She says things that are virtually impossible to say in prose; that’s the essence of poetry.

    I will either come back later to listen to more while I eat my breakfast, or I will find this reading on YouTube. Thank you for posting it.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    writer/poet/editor/blogger
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

