RSS Feed

Beware…

 

 A friend of mine is getting grief because she published under a different poetic identity. Warning: only 2% of what I write is real. I did the math.  Getting people to like what you write and believe in what you write is quite a feat, whether autobiographical, intended, or not. Apologists for a certain “press” don’t like what she did because they feel deceived, and in turn rejected a poem of hers they previously accepted for their publication. That’s bad business and that is why they will never be more than a kitsch slam poetry press. I do believe being the head of a press and publishing yourself and friends of friends is kitsch. Beware the screaming lizard, kitsch slam poetry press. Your time will come. Oh, my bad. It never will…   

(Quotations denote the name of the press is not even worth mentioning, only as a mere Tag.)  

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

2 responses »

  1. I feel you on that G. I kind of don’t like Write Bloody because it really bothers me how they run their show. Its hard starting a press — but maintaining? Yeah, hard as shit. Doesn’t mean you have to run a sloppy ship. Also doesn’t mean I’m gonna hate on a good poet if they’re good.

    But anyway man, email me that Los Angeles Review poem, cuz thats kind of awesome. I’d love to read it: iamnotspikelee@gmail.com

    Reply
    • Man, you have NO idea how shady the captain of that ship is. Not gonna’ lie, I like the way he’s been able to cultivate a press. Their books are pretty, he has a few talented poets, and he has a niche following. But he never followed through on some things he extended towards me. He disregards the best writers that submit to him in favor of lesser writers who are friends or friends of friends. And I’ve also heard some pretty disgraceful stuff about him from people who know him well and have spent a lot of time with him. I’m blessed he didn’t choose me to publish. As a friend said, I can do (and have done) better, and I would not want to be associated with Derrick Brown or Write Bloody in ANY way. It would cheapen me. Thanks for your words and expressing your opinion.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

