RSS Feed

Rush Hour

Posted on

 

I’m doing a reading tomorrow and deciding what to read. I’m gravitating towards my “older” (older for me is a year) stuff because the older poems are in my forthcoming book. Those poems make me feel all nostalgic. So I’m inspired to write a poem/flash  about this time when my friend’s gold chain got ripped off his neck by a guy older and bigger than us after just getting out of the theatre to see License to Drive (still can’t believe Corey Haim is dead). Dude just walked past us and ripped it off his neck. We didn’t do anything about it. The song below was in the movie, when Les was at the party and the audience is introduced to his crush, Mercedes. At first Les didn’t do anything about it either, but then he did something about it by taking Mercedes out for a late 80’s, teenage night on the town. This song makes me all nostalgic too. You can make fun of me if you want. It remains a guilty pleasure. I have lots. Don’t we all…?

About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

Leave a Reply

