RSS Feed

Zorro as Alarm Clock

 

Zorro tells me when to wake up. 5:47 on weekdays; 8 on weekends.  When I try
to hit the snooze button that I forget isn’t there, he twirls his cape from his back,
rolls it tight and snaps my neck. If I do it again he cracks his whip around my
hand, and yanks it like the leash of a disobedient Chihuahua. I’m usually up by
then. But once I did it a third time. He twirled the ends of his skinny stache,
shook his head, cracked his knuckles, and removed his mask.

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

Leave a Reply

