RSS Feed

Today…

is my birthday.  I’m now the same age as David Silver and Donna Martin—cause the original 90210 is still, and always will be, a guilty pleasure.  I’m older than James Franco.  I’m a better writer.  I have better pecs.  But he’s a better actor.  He has some people believing he can write.  This poem isn’t 90210 caliber.  More like Pineapple Express.  But it’s relevant. Brandon Walsh is still my idol. Judge me not…

 

You and Me

I stood in line at 7-Eleven after my nightly workout
to buy a quart of milk,
because osteoporosis isn’t sexy.
And because I still believe somehow,
it will do my thirty-something year-old body
some good.

Carefree college dude in front of me,
whose mondo snug tee said I MILFS,
and barely covered his corpulent Heineken-bolstered belly,
asked the cliché Calcutta clerk if he could get him
an obscure brand of cigarettes;
the clerk had to be guided three times
before he got it right.

“Dhis one?”
“Dhis one?”
“Dhis one?”

I walked out envying frat boy and his life,
remembering when… guzzling my milk.

Carefree college dude sat down on his beach cruiser,
coolly tapping his sandal to the ground
puffing away
looking up at stars that weren’t there.

I chugged quickly,
staring at him until he looked at me,
shaking his head in dismay as if to say,
“Hey.  My life’s not any easier Bro…”

(Read more 90210 stuff >>>HERE)

 

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

3 responses »

  1. “Distinguished,” haha…that’s one way to see it, I like that. And since I have permission to use anything, I may use two. I’m undecided which to choose out of six! 🙂 I’ll send you the link when it’s up…

    Reply
  2. Happy birthday! Hope you have a great one.

    I love this poem, I’m beginning to have similar encounters in life too.

    James Franco writes? I didn’t know this. Ugh, he gets to be a published writer because he’s famous. I’ll take your word for it that you’re a better writer.

    Also, I’ve been meaning to ask permission to post one of your poems on my other blog (hosted on tumblr). I’ll cite appropriately of course. I haven’t decided which I want to put up though…do let me know if that’s alright.

    Reply
    • Thanks. –“beginning to,” ha. It only gets worse, but I’ve learned to embrace my distinguised nature. James Franco writes. He’s decent at best, but celebrated by those who aren’t writers. And yeah, you can use anything. I’m curious which you’ll choose…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

