RSS Feed

What a Year…

 

Today is the one-year anniversay of this blog.  I originally planned on using this
page as a way to “promote” myself as a poet.  I planned on posting and com-
menting on a new, original poem every day.  That plan lasted less than a month…
because I realized I’m a writer, not just a poet.  I realized posting every day
would be forced, and any writing  up would reflect that.  And I realized “promot-
ing” myself is done through what and how I write. I’ve had some amazing things
happen while maintaining this blog, including: getting  admitted into my first
choice of grad schools for my MFA, 85 publications- including journals who
publish the top poets in the country, inclusion in an anthology of Southern
California poets, and… accptance of my first poetry manuscript for publication. 
I’ve been blessed to have achieved so much more than I thought possible in only
a year.  But the biggest thing I realized is that I’m part of a thriving culture of
writers who are vastly different in terms of race, upbringing, viewpoints, and
any other difference that could be imagined.  But it is these differences that unite
us, that allow us to convey who we are, who we aren’t, and  who we want to be
through what we write..  I’ve met some great people through their words, and 
hope mine are appreciated as well.

 

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

8 responses »

  1. Perhaps a little late but it’s certainly still felt the same…..congrats! Pa’lante.

    Reply
  2. Cheers to your successes my friend, here’s to all the years ahead!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! Getting through the second one is harder, I hear. 😉

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday. Congratulations on many successes as a writer, including publication of a book of verse by Pecan Grove Press. So many blessings. Bravo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

