RSS Feed

Excavation Theory

Posted on

 

Tell me about the part when we chalked Xs on our limbs—
                                   dissected the delicate hinges of our anatomy
in the name of Science.
     My lines were straight,
     unwavering archaeological sites
     certain of the reward.
                                Yours fragmented, mostly
        virgin theories
                         of expedition afraid to go all the way.
But the blade sliced through your bones
as if rescuing the marrow from the clutches of calcium.
                The nerves proved more difficult.
Their fibers sewn together:
a militia of strong-armed filaments.
         I stopped short of cutting out your heart
                                             You called me “chicken”
asking, Where is the celebrated sonata?
                The bloody concerto?
                                             You called me “Balk.”
             I didn’t correct you.

(originally published here)

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

2 responses »

  1. Damn, talk about a strong ending! I like this a lot, speaks to my science-loving side.

    Reply
    • Thanks 🙂 I was never sure the ending is as strong when heard as opposed to read. Glad to hear it does work on the page.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

