RSS Feed

6 month update

Posted on

 

So for our Antioch residency, they’re asking us to write a bio and list our accomplishments since the last time we met in December.  And even though I’ve done pretty well for myself (maybe even better than pretty well), I don’t think I’m going to do that.  I don’t really have a reason why.  But since this is my personal space, I’m going to do it here.  There are a number of people who I’ve met in this crazy online community of poets we’ve chosen to be a part of.  I want to thank you for making me a better writer, and sharing in my world with me. 

Since December I’ve:

been published or have forthcoming work in 55 journals (one with a monthly viewership of 15-20,000, another that featured Bob Hicok and Dean Young the month before me).

appeared in my first book (an anthology of Southern California poets).

made the finals of one of my favorite press’s manuscript open submission contest (in progress).

— All of these mean a lot to me.  I’ve worked really hard and continue to do so.  As I told a potential mentor at Antioch back in December, no one will outwork me.  But it’s not really work, since it’s what I love to do.  I’m up against some truly great poets.  Whatever becomes of it, I’m proud of myself.  I’ve spent the last two weeks preparing my manuscript and will send it in tomorrow.   And to all who gave me such honest and constructive feedback, thank you.  We’ll see what’s meant to be…

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

10 responses »

  1. Daniel, that’s pretty damn awesome. You’re one of the hardest working poets I kind of know in real life.

    Reply
  2. Thanks Alejandra. Me too 🙂

    Reply
  3. Kudos, for all the fruits of your labor a.k.a. love. 🙂 Cheers.

    Reply
  4. Congratulations!

    Reply
  5. Daniel, you’ve had an impressive 6 months of accomplishments! I can only imagine what great writing you’ll be creating in the next 6 months. I just wanted to stop by and congratulate you 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your work as it gets published.

    Reply
    • Thank you Alejandra. Know that you are one of those people I wrote of.

      Reply
      • Glad to be part of the same online poets’ community as you! Though really I’m just a fan… I’m keeping my fingers crossed for your manuscript. Hope it makes the cut in that open submission contest you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

