RSS Feed

Pop-Art: An Anthology of Southern California Poetry

Posted on

This is the anthology I’m in.  There’s a big launch in two weeks.  The artwork looks beautiful.  “The Other Side of Town” cartoon refers to my poem of the same name below.  I’m pretty excited about the release.

 

The Other Side of Town

It’s 1 a.m. in September.
Three witches walk towards me
down Artesia Boulevard
armed with eyebrows like
my father’s temper.

I fear witches more than heights,
clowns, and spiteful waiters.

And they’re a month early.

I’ll tell them it was an accident;
I simply forgot to wash the dishes.

And I pulled out all the whiskers of
the black cat in the alley
because he bragged of his many lives.

My father had one.

Death and poetry
are related in life.
Bloodlines of realism so exaggerated,
it makes sense.

I decide to cut across the street,
pushing too real reveries
to the side,
                   like horrid vegetables.

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. Hi, your page just came up at my http://fmpoetry.wordpress.com website as related to a poem I just posted. Please visit if you have time.

    Good n’ interesting poem, and mag looks great.

    Southern Cali is one of my fave places, as liked the counter-culture history, and 80s LA metal music when I was a youth in that time. And dry hot sunny weather is also my climate!

    Reply
  2. I’m all for magic realism in poetry, and this piece has got goodness-to-oodles of it. The thing with the black cat — so cool and refreshing (like a drink on a summer’s day, wait, that’s today in my side of the world) to read. 😉 Cheers.

    Reply
  3. Hi! I just wanna say I love your posting.
    I think it’s interesting..especially the The Other Side of Town poem. Hope the cartoon will get a big succeed..
    Okay, looking forward to another great posting from you.
    Ciao

    Reply

Leave a Reply

