RSS Feed

In Due Time

I actually wrote this a couple of years ago when I started “really” writing.  That is when I took it seriously and thought I might have a future in it.  It’s one of the ten pages of poetry I submitted to Antioch as part of my portfolio.  It’s pretty decent I guess.

 


In Due Time
 
She sat across from me beind the travel section
on the second floor of the bookstore,
her hair still wet from the shower.
I wanted to walk over and tell her
how sexy I thought girls with wet hair are,
or ask her if she’d like to go downstairs
and get to know each other
over poppy seed scones and macchiato,
or…

have her put her Cosmo down, close her eyes,
and embrace the goosebumps the flirty, grainy sound
my pencil induces as it slides across the page.

I’ll have her imagine intimate tropical islands
I’m writing about,
where we dissect Dickinson in a tiny, bamboo cabana
surreptitiously serenaded by the staccato
of an impromptu August rain.

Picture us holding hands walking along cobblestone streets
in rich European towns whose names we can’t pronounce.

She’ll feel my caring finger wipe the mustard
from the corner of her mouth,
because one can’t go to Coney Island
without visiting Nathan’s.

She sat across from me behind the travel section
on the second floor of the bookstore,
her hair still wet from the shower.
I wanted to walk over…
I wanted to walk over.

(originally published at Camroc Press Review)

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

6 responses »

  1. I like this poem. most people can relate to it where they see an attractive person walking down the street but yet they don’t have the courage to walk up and even say hi. I always love the way you describe things in your writing.

    Reply
  2. “where we dissect Dickinson in a tiny, bamboo cabana”

    I gotta book me a flight to that place. 😉

    Writers have the healthiest (ahem) daydreams. (chuckles)

    Reply
  3. Steamy!

    Isn’t it amazing how you can do a world tour in your mind with someone in about twenty seconds and then never see them again?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

