RSS Feed

I’m the Featured Poet of the month

for January at Chantrelle’s Notebook.  They were good enough to put up several of my poems, and will feature more next month.  Some of my favorite pieces are up, recently revised and all.  This is one such poem.  I wrote it a couple of years ago, but recently gave it a makeover.  Have a gander at the others.  It’s a really pretty site with some great artists. 

 

Blood Brothers

When we were ten
we pricked our index fingers,
strangled them, breathless,
until they became a bloody
Cyclops,
and sloppily bonded them together.

He moved four years later,
and I never saw him
until the other day,
bored at work
succumbing to
Facebook again.

His shaved head
mosaic skull tattoos
and double birds
made it difficult to
recognize my friend.

I recalled that day
in Ms. Barrett’s class
when we straightened
and sharpened staples
becoming family:

—The two-story, built-in pool, white boy
—The two bedroom, blow-up pool, Latino
“Brothers Forever…”

However
the emblazoned swastika
branded
on Kevin’s left wrist,
broadcast
we lost touch
long ago.

About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you kindly Mark. I’m super happy about it.

    Reply
  2. Well deserved, I say…

    Reply
  3. Thanks Joseph. For the best though I suppose.

    Reply
  4. First, congratulations! Second, this is quite the powerful piece… it’s kind of unsettling, the degree to which people can change when you’re not in touch with them anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

