RSS Feed

“It’s the end of the world as we know it…”

R.E.M. is one of my all-time favorite groups.  They make for excellent background writing music.  That said, here’s a poem that is one of a batch to be published in the January and February issues of a pretty swell place. 
Maybe they helped to inspire the poem.

 

Flying
 
 
“The world is going to end soon,”
My brother informed me
At our family barbecue
In my parents’ front yard.
“Chemtrails! Too many damn people.
They’re tryin’ to kill us! Chemtrails man…”

 I pretended to listen.

My tousled hair blew
In overzealous summer wind,
While 17 ladybugs that looked like
Speckled tomatoes
Rambled along my arm.

 I was reminded of my 6th birthday party,
High fructose corn syrup children
Frenzied,
Then crashing,
Aimlessly wandering my backyard
Looking for their mothers.

But today I ate too much carne asada.
My brother drank too much beer.
And a yellow Miata headed our way
Then made a u-turn
Noticing the sign—
Not a through street.

“Friggin’ conspiracy man…”

Not a through street
Not a complete thought
And they flew away,
A spotted, ruddy procession of gentility,
While the Chemtrails laughed overhead.

My brother says,
“It’s the end…”

About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

Leave a Reply

