RSS Feed

All things 90’s…

A little spoken wordy fusing my appreciation of 90’s rock and hip-hop.  I read it at a spoken word joint and it sounds pretty bad ass with drums.  In another life, I was a late 80’s-early 90’s rapper.

 

Weezer

 

Hold my hand
Sit me down
And say it ain’t so
‘cause I’m weezin’
Freezin’ bleedin’
And it’s forty below
And the frostbite’s settin’ in
Hypothermia’s gonna’ win
Quit slouchin’
Man up
And take it on the chin
Crack my knuckles off beat
Stoic shuffle down the street
Nomad incognito
Cap low to be discreet
But I can’t stop the rain
Waterlogged torrential pain
And my soul and my soles
Sure can’t handle this terrain
Now I’m tryin’ to beat this spell
But I’m dyin’ wish me well
If I’m lyin’ you can’t tell
‘cause you’re buyin’ these words I sell

Oh yeah…
Alright…
Feels good…
Inside…

Flip on the teli so you can see
What has become of lil’ ol’ me
My demise was premature
But I’ll accept your apology
And I fight on
I write on
Don’t worry ‘bout keepin’ the light on
Just revel in my persistence
And effervescent glow
Then hold my hand
Sit me down
And say it ain’t so,
Hold my hand…
Sit me down…
And say…
It ain’t so…

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

Leave a Reply

