RSS Feed

“He’s on his way…”

To add to the department of redundancy department–I’ve come a long way this past year and a half in regards to my poetry.  I went from reading at local open mics, to featuring at local bookstores and coffeehouses, to considering grad school for the first time this past April when a colleague told me I was wasting my time reading when I should look into an MFA, to getting into an incredible MFA program a month ago.  And getting an assortment of publications these past few months has been great too.  But way back in June 08, I created a chapbook.  Some of the poems in are not my best to date, but some of them actually are.  I met someone who sent it to poet/author Gary Soto.  I expected nothing out of it, but was quite happy to get a postcard back.  He sent it to the people who I originally gave it to and they sent it to me.  Turns out, he’s been right…

DSCF0147

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. Good for you.I’m crossing fingers for you!

    Reply
  2. Appreciate it Mark.

    Reply
  3. You certainly are, Daniel…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

