RSS Feed

…to the Head

I’ve been writing poetry for about 4 years now.  And in those 4 years I’ve grown immensely.  I went  from writing introspective musings, to socio-political, pseudo-rants, to writing about everyday scenarios of the human spirit.  And as I begin the next, much-needed step in pursuit of all that an Antioch MFA offers, I can truly say there is one poet that has had more of an impact on my development as a writer that any other.  Though I haven’t read him in a long time, Saul Williams inspired me to write.  He took me to a far away world, allowing me to examine mans’ shortcomings and evolution, as well as my own spiritual quest.  Saul Williams gave me the eyes to examine, the guts to experiment, and the heart to beat the pace I desired.  While I don’t read Saul much these days- instead digesting Hoagland, Simic, O’ Hara, had I not read Saul Williams, I would’ve never read any of the others.  Here’s to you Saul…

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

2 responses »

  1. And ya’ know Joe, you ain’t seen nothin’ yet. Brilliant mind.

    Reply
  2. Even just from that little snippet… damn. I like! I can see why he inspires.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

