RSS Feed

Experimental Piece

This is a portion from a longer, untitled poem I wrote two years ago  in which I experimented using different sizes and fonts.  I think it kinda’ works in prose.  I was inspired by Saul Williams’s poem/book, “Said the Shotgun to the Head.”

 

“Love is an artform slightly removed from its element.”  -Saul Williams

Yet more lines about love (or the lack thereof). It’s not as if I planned it this way, it’s just easier to write than say. My voice has been dubbed. Perhaps it all began in high school when I got tongue-tied (and petrified) around pretty girls and resorted to cheap poetry as a means of communication epitomized through my prom date invite carefully slid in the crack of her locker—’I know I don’t know you very well, or at all for that matter, but I can tell you and I will get along great, will you be my prom date?’ She said yes, but that’s the only time I ever heard that word from her. I don’t even think she liked me. She was shapely. A poor, brown girl in a lace, red dress who simply wanted to ride around in an expensive, white limo. She didn’t slow dance. I didn’t finish my Crème Brûlée. We were home by twelve. I don’t blame her. Heroic couplets reek of despair.

About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

Leave a Reply

