RSS Feed

Con Artist

Don’t ya’ hate it when people aren’t who they say they are?

(Originally published here, where I was “Poet of the Week,” might I add.)
Poetry Superhighway

Con Artist

In another life he was John Rockefeller.
And raided trains with
Pancho Villa.

You first met him at a
“Clue” board game-themed party;
He was Professor Plum.

That night he told you
He graduated Yale at 14,
And began renegotiating the debt
Of small European countries
Later that summer.

If it weren’t for his claim
To be the inspiration for Don Juan,
You knew him to be Casanova.

But you learned he was a liar,
Cheat,
Scoundrel.

Deftly painting portraits of impossibility,
Beautiful,
At what he did.

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

4 responses »

  1. I cannot pinpoint exactly what I absolutely love about this poem – maybe the smile it gave me remembering the myriad of Rockefeller/Villa/Casanovas in my day.

    I think it’s more the romantic image you created of the con artist for me – well done!

    Reply
  2. your poetry is amazing! im new to the poetry scene, and its growing on me quite fast. part of poetry class this year is writing three poems for submission and hopefully publication, ive written a poem apart from continuous drafts of ambitious topics haha i find myself giving up a lot. just wanted to say your work is a great inspiration! thanks!

    Reply
    • I appreciate that, Chris? It grew on me too starting about 4 years ago. My advice to get better is to read other poets. It definitely takes time. If you ever need help, I’d be happy to take a look at what you got. Take care.
      -Dan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

