RSS Feed

Fine Dining

I discovered a new site of interest today.  It’s called Xican@ Poetry Daily.  After exploring a bit, I submitted some pieces and one of them is up today (with more possibly in the future).  Here is the link.  Xicano Poetry Daily

The art of poetry is a diverse world, and sites such as this showcase the differences.  And maybe I’m contradicting myself and may ruffle a few feathers, but the art generally attracts a certain “demographic” of writers.  Hence as a Latino poet, I’m honored to represent my ethnicity.  The following light-hearted poem is a different piece than the aforementioned, but relevant.


Chorizo and Eggs

Surrounded by people of pigmentation
Predominantly lighter than mine,
It’s a must my cultural preservation,
The Latino way I dine.

It’s what keeps me grounded
Like an Incan Fortress
Cemented to my roots.

Deep with heritage
Glowing with pride
A fact I can’t refute.

And despite the quiche and espresso walls
And the variety for which Vanillaland begs,
I prefer to forgo Spinach soufflés,

Opting for my chorizo
And eggs.

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

6 responses »

  1. good topic. thanks for sharing info

    Reply
  2. I’ll have a plate of that, too, please. I’m an egg person myself (just pile up the sunny-side-up). 😉 With chorizo or longganisa (similar to chorizo in terms of preparation), fried.

    This is seriously making me hungry.

    Taking pride in one’s native cuisine — that’s admirable in my book. Cheers.

    Reply
  3. Ok. But I think you already saw that poem. It’s just republished. Don’t say the “s” word.

    Reply
    • yep, I have. I like that one.
      that is a really cool site. I’m going to explore it further when I have time. geez, I miss those summer days!! (oops–does that “s” word count?)

      take it easy…

      Reply
  4. hey-congrats!!

    I’ll check it out tomorrow when I can keep my eyes open. (this first week of school was a killer…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

