RSS Feed

“Crutch”

Borders is my favorite place in the world to hang out.  Sad, maybe.  But I like it.  There are many regulars who evidently share my sentiment because I always see them there.  One guy in particular stands out.  He hangs outside playing his guitar.  One day I sat outside while he played, and wrote the following poem.  But it needed a title, and I knew the title had to be his name.  I didn’t feel comfortable saying, “Excuse me.  I just wrote a poem about  you.  What’s your name?” so I left it untitled.  But as I was leaving, his sheet music flew my way.  He thanked me as I gave it back to him, after reading his name at the top of the page.


“Crutch”
 
I overheard him say he’s a lawyer.
And I thought he was just some
Bald-headed, blue jeans, gi-tar playin’
Nostalgic ex-hippie
Who strummed outside the bookstore
Just because he’s a free spirit.

I like to sit at the frail, metal table
Listening to him.

As he plays
I’m reminded of love,
Sex,
And people.

And when it gets too cold,
I sit at the frail, metal table.

Because I want to be reminded—
Of love,
Sex,
And people.

DSCF0418

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

5 responses »

  1. Very good…I like that a lot. Thank you for sending me this link and for reading my post about crutches.

    Reply
  2. I really like this, and the process by which it acquired it’s title.
    I like how you single out sex, it comes off a little cacophonous.

    “Bald-headed, blue jeans, gi-tar playin’
    Nostalgic ex-hippie”
    I also loved these lines. It gives you a visual and sort of lets you see who the man is behind the suit. Everyone portrays the lawyer as something negative in a more familial way. Here, maybe not particularly negative, you portray him in a way the majority of society wouldnt.
    Great read. (:

    Reply
    • Thanks Jenny. I see the guy there all the time and I’d like to show it to him. I think being a fellow artist, he’d appreciate it. But it would still be kinda’ weird.

      Reply
      • I don’t think so at all. But I’m a little weird so maybe that’s saying something. Ha.

      • Funny, I just came back from Borders and he was there. I think it’s best this way. Kinda’ keep the anonymity behind the poet.
        🙂

Leave a Reply

