RSS Feed

Blood Brothers

For a poet, choosing his 10 best poems is not easy.  It’s like telling a musician to choose his best songs, or a painter to choose his best paintings.  But for entrance (cross your fingers) into a MFA program, that’s what I’ve had to do.  It’s been a group effort to get me in.  I’ve had many people look at my work, helping me revise and decide.  And while it’s been difficult choosing only ten, for me it was easy including this poem as one of my best.

We’ve all done it, looked up old friends on social networking sites.  Sometimes we approach the situation wanting to rekindle that part of our past we’ve lost.  More often, we’re just curious and want to see what our old friends look like and are up to now.  This poem is based off the latter.  Too bad adults don’t have the same outlook on life kids do.

  

Blood Brothers

When we were 10
We pricked our index fingers,
Squeezed them tight
Until they resembled a crimson
Cyclops,
And rubbed them together.

He moved four years later
And I never saw him
Until the other day,
When I was bored at work
And succumbed to
Facebook again.

His shaved head,
Bad tattoos,
And double birds
Made it difficult to recognize
My friend.

I recalled that day
In Ms. Barrett‘s class
When we manipulated staples
And became family—
The two-story, built-in pool white boy
And the two bedroom, Doughboy Latino,
“Brothers Forever…”

However
The swastika he now wore
On his left wrist,
Told me
We lost touch,
Long ago.

Originally published here
http://verdadmagazine.org/vol4/poetry/romo.html#bio

About Daniel Romo

Author of When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

2 responses »

  1. Such is life…

    Reply
  2. Drifting…it happens.

    Nicely summed up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

