RSS Feed

and Here…

Is there anything more perfect than a gray sky, the sound of a freshly sharpened wooden pencil writing kick-ass sonnets across recycled paper, the mall at Christmas time?  When I teach poetry to my classes, I tell them that poetry is here (pointing to my mind), here (pointing to my soul), here (pointing to my body), and here (pointing to everything around me).  It is that last here that is the source of my greatest inspiration.  The vast majority of my poems come from seeds that others planted: a documentary on war, the scene at an open mic, or dolls strewn about the freeway.  Earlier this summer while driving on the 605 North, I saw about fifty dolls all over the freeway and it was so… beautiful.  Needless to say, a poem was born.  It appears online and my new friend angie werren from readwritepoem.org/ said it reminded her of a friend’s photographs.  She sent me the link to the pictures and they accompany the spirit of the poem quite nicely.

The pictures are part of  a collection called “That Car,” by Greg Phelps.  His flicker page explains it better than I can, so please have a look.  I hope you enjoy my poem, and Greg’s art.

Greg’s page-http://www.flickr.com/photos/thatcar/collections/72157606596769711/

Site where my poem originally appears (about a third of the way down)
http://www.gloomcupboard.com/2009/06/98.html

 
Beautification Efforts on the 605

The dolls were dead.
And their button eyes
And calico limbs
Congested the freeway
With wonderment,
And memories,
Maybe.

Miniature apparel
Bright.
Flattened.
So pretty.

Woven entrails chic,
Rubber neck disbelief.
And those incredulous cars
Made them scatter
Like foggy recollections
To be savoured
On tips of impatient tongues.

Perhaps fallen from a tractor trailer
Someone forgot to lock;
You don’t see that everyday.

      Caution:
      Potential nostalgic
      Haphazard ahead.

Who knew?
The dolls were dead.

About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

3 responses »

  1. fantastic!!! I love that poem. that must have been something.

    I see more doll poetry in your future…

    Reply
  2. Wonderful encapsulation of the photo’s….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

