RSS Feed

Rhyme

Having grown up on real hip-hop/rap (1987-1994), I appreciate poets who incorporate rhyme in their poetry. There is a stigma attached—that it is “Dr. Suessy,” less viable than ornate, highfalutin sentiments many of today’s poets hide behind, yet inexplicably are praised for. And while many new poets center their work around end rhyme, the use of internal/slant, and yes, even end rhyme is an aspect of the craft that’s overlooked. But to me, incorporating relevant rhyme is the most difficult thing to do in poetry. It takes so much planning, dissection. That’s why most poets don’t use it. It’s not because of the negative connotation, but because they CAN’T! Cheers to poet Kay Ryan. Her poems embody relevance in rhyme. Props to Tupac Shakur, the gangsta’ Frost of his time. 
 
Here is a poem I wrote a couple of years ago in which I hope I pulled rhyme off.  It can be found at the link below.
 

Carousel
 


She tells me,
“Get on a horse.
I won’t fall.”
And I reluctantly
Step aside
Straddling the Stallion
Beside her Palomino.  

I extend my arm
And she pushes it away
And says,
“Don’t worry Daddy,
I’ll be okay.”
I just want to protect her.

And with each revolution
I see
The evolution
That is to occur
When,
We’ll no longer
Go on rides
Side by side
And after a while
Her adoring smile
Will be
For someone else.

“Hold my hand,”
She says.
I take it,
It looks like mine,
Knowing someday
I’ll have to give it away.

Our ride ends.
“Wanna’ go on again?”
“Yes,” I tell her,
Thankful,
She’s too young
For roller-coasters.

http://verdadmagazine.org/vol3/poetry/romo.html

 

 
About Daniel Romo

Author of Apologies in Reverse (FutureCycle Press, 2019), When Kerosene's Involved (Mojave River Press, 2014) and Romancing Gravity (Silver Birch Press, 2013). I'm partial to prose poems. Alliteration. And fragments.

Leave a Reply

